Best Corded Drill 2019 – Reviews & Buyer’s Guide

The drill is the most essential and frequently used home improvement tools. You can not complete any toolkit without a drill. There are many types of drills available over the market and the internet, but the two main types of drill are corded and cordless drills. Every type has its advantages and disadvantages of using it, but here we are going to talk about the best corded drill of 2019.

We do know about the recent advanced changes in cordless tools in terms of weight and power, but the corded drills remain the same powerful option for the market. They do have the ability you need to complete every fastening and drilling job. The tons of products available over the internet, and it is difficult to tell the product quality from its description only. No worries, our reviews are made to solve this problem.

Best Corded Drill 2019

Here are the best corded drills ranked, in order:

1. DEWALT DWD115K 8 Amp 3/8-Inch

If you are looking for a drill that can handle all of your professional and casual tasks, then Dewalt DWD115K is what you are looking for. It is one of the most popular drills in the country, and the best part is Dewalt DWD115K is versatile and easy to handle.

DEWALT Corded Drill, 8.0-Amp, 3/8-Inch Price: $70.99 DEWALT Corded Drill, 8.0-Amp, 3/8-Inch Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

If I talk about the features, then it has an adjustable speed trigger, reversing switch and comfortable grip.

We do know that it is one of the lightweight drills available over the market. The weight carried by Dewalt DWD115K is 4.1 Lbs. The best thing I liked the most about this drill is it does not cause its user fatigue even after extended usage.

It comes with a powerful motor of 8 amp, which is suitable for almost every drilling task. The best thing is it comes with widely used 3/8″ chuck, which makes it easier for the person for long-range drills. The keyless chuck will help the person to replace the used drill bit quickly.

If I do talk about the speed of this drill, then it ranges from 0 to 2500PM along with adjustable speed trigger. The only thing I don’t like about this drill is it is slightly overpriced for the average customers. However, It is not a big deal though every premium thing comes with a premium price tag.

2. Black & Decker DR260B 5.2-Amp 3/8-Inch Drill

Black & Decker is one of the best and well-renowned companies and primarily known for producing quality tools at affordable pricing. This is one of the most potent drills which makes the most robust job easier for the user. You will be able to control the speed of this drill alongside you will get the materials you need to optimize your drilling and fastening. It comes with onboard drill bit storage system so you will have quick access to the screw driving bit system.

Black & Decker DR260B 5.2-Amp 3/8-Inch Drill Price: $43.48 Black & Decker DR260B 5.2-Amp 3/8-Inch Drill Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

The best part is it comes in the keyless chuck, and the size of the chuck is 3/8”. It weighs around 4 Lbs and therefore, it comes under the lightweight drills list.

If you ask me, then I will prefer this drill for regular home use as it comes with 5.2 amp motor and which I do not think suitable for the most robust fastening and drilling tasks. Another thing, the cord itself is not long enough, so you will need an extension for this.

3. DEWALT DWD210G 10-Amp 1/2-Inch Pistol-Grip Drill

If the budget is not a problem for you, and you require the quality drill at any price tag. Then another one in our list is DEWALT DWD210G from the same brand Dewalt, which is famous for making quality home improvement tools. DEWALT DWD210G comes with the most reliable motor of 10 amp power. It is a powerhouse and not only the wood or plastic you can drill using this, but this can also be applied on concrete and masonry.

DEWALT Electric Drill, Pistol-Grip, 1/2-Inch Price: $119.00 DEWALT Electric Drill, Pistol-Grip, 1/2-Inch Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

The combination of looks and grip is perfect. You will get a black and yellow colour combination in looks and the pistol grip for the comfortable. The best thing I liked the most about Dewalt DWD210G is the overload protection for the motor. Meanwhile, if the motor used in its full power, then the overload protection system will automatically shut down and keeps the drill and user safe. Another thing I liked the most is the 360-degree side handle, which provides a comfortable angle direction to the users while using.

In the end, the thing I don’t like is slightly overweight of this drill, but it is due to the added features on it. However, if the budget is not an issue for you and you are looking for the best-corded drill under 100$, then this is the one I would suggest to you.

4. PORTER-CABLE PC600D 6.5 Amp 3/8-Inch Drill

If you are looking for the cheapest and yet powerful drill in the market, then PORTER-CABLE PC600D is the what you are looking for. Most of the people get fooled by the price they are offering, but they do not know about the performance and quality of this cheap stuff. Despite being cheap and affordable, it comes with decent power and stability. It comes with 6 amp motor, which is perfect for regular and general uses drilling and fastening tasks, especially for home use.

PORTER-CABLE Corded Drill, Variable Speed, 6-Amp, 3/8-Inch Price: $39.96 PORTER-CABLE Corded Drill, Variable Speed, 6-Amp, 3/8-Inch Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

The speed of the motor can go far up to 2500 RPM, which is again a good signal. The high-torque gear design makes it suitable for drilling through woods and metals. Despite being cheap, it does come with all the professional features you can get in premium price tag only. To be an instance, it has an adjustable speed trigger for speed control, a keyless chuck of 3/8” size for a quick drill bit change, a belt clip to secure the tool and a long, high-grade cord for smooth movement.

PORTER-CABLE PC600D also comes in the list of best lightweight corded drills as it only weighs around 4.3 pounds. The only problem with this drill is that it is not suitable for the professional and robust task uses.

5. Bosch 1006VSR 3/8-Inch Keyless Chuck Drill

Another famous brand on our list is Bosch. It comes at a slightly higher price, but according to me, it is worth every penny. If you are looking for a corded drill that too under 100$ budget then Bosch 1006VSR is here to stop your search. It comes with a 6.3 AMP powerful motor, which is perfect for regular home tasks. The speed of the motor can go up to 2600 RPM, which is again suitable for drilling and fastening tasks.

Bosch 1006VSR 3/8-Inch Keyless Chuck Drill Price: $55.59 Bosch 1006VSR 3/8-Inch Keyless Chuck Drill Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

Apart from this, It does come with a comfortable handle grip a lock-on the grip and oversized two-finger buttons. The controllable speed provides you with smooth access to the drill, and it comes with a standard size chuck, and the chuck is keyless for easy drill bit removal.

Bosch 1006VSR comes in a lightweight form, and it only weighs around 3.4 pounds, which is again easy to handle. This can be a good option if you need for soft purposes and normal drillings at home, but I will not recommend this for heavy-duty steels.

6. Kawasaki 840176 Green 5.8 Amp 3/8-Inch Reversible Drill

Alltrade Tools LLC is one of the best global leader and tools providers, and Kawasaki tools are one of them. Kawasaki 840176 is one of the popular products which comes under budget, and it possesses 5.8 AMP motor. We do know that It is not a pack of a powerhouse, but it is suitable for regular drilling works under budget.

Kawasaki 840176 Green 5.8 Amp 3/8-Inch Drill Price: Kawasaki 840176 Green 5.8 Amp 3/8-Inch Drill Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

It comes with keyless 3/8” chuck and the speed of 2500 RPM which is again suitable for the regular drilling tasks. Kawasaki 840176 also comes under the lightweight drills it weighs around 3lbs. However, it is ideal for regular usage but not for the usage like drilling into concrete.

7. Makita 6302H 1/2-Inch Drill

When it comes to quality and durability, the Makita 6302H always comes the first preference of many people. It comes with a 6.5 amp quality motor. It is not only suitable for lightweight tasks but also for heavy-duty tasks.

Electric Drill, 1/2 In, 0 to 550 rpm, 6.5A Price: $130.99 Electric Drill, 1/2 In, 0 to 550 rpm, 6.5A Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

The industrial quality chuck size ½” is suitable, and keyed. What I liked the most about this brand drill is the reversing and switch lock-on button. Additionally, the large side handle is there for comfortability to the user. The double-insulated metal casing included in drill provides extra durability to the drill.

However, if you are looking for premium thing under a reasonable price tag, then Makita 6302H is what you are looking for.

8. Skil 6445-02 7.0-Amp 120-volt 1/2-Inch Hammer Drill

The last one is in our list is Skil 6445-02 with 7 AMP power motor. It is one of the best heavy drill machines that provides both power and weight for drilling job. The hammer look design is one of the most attractive designs that most people look for. It comes with 7 AMP powerful motor and additional hammer function for lightweight drilling and fastening tasks.

SKIL 6445-04 7.0 Amp 1/2 In. Hammer Drill Price: $42.74 SKIL 6445-04 7.0 Amp 1/2 In. Hammer Drill Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/19/2019

This comes with 1/2 size keyed secure chuck. The thing I liked the most is the 360-degree side handle, which provides the user to operate every direction at maximum power. The speed of the motor can go up to 3000 RPM.

In the end, I can recommend this to everyone who is looking for cheap and the best-corded drill under this price tag.

Buying Guide

There are many types of corded drills on the market. Each has its unique facilities. However, there are some common features that you should keep in mind if you want the best one for your need. Take a look at the features. Hopefully, this guide will save your time, effort and most importantly, money in the buying process.

Motor power

Motor power is the core of a drill. When you’re buying a corded drill, you need to make sure whether the power is sufficient for the particular job. The power of the motors is measured in amps. Although there are variations, the general range is 5-10 amp. If you’re looking for mild jobs, like drilling in the wood or plastic, a drill with the normal motor should work. If you’re looking for some heavy and long work like drilling on concrete or other tough material, the motor power should be above 7 amp.

There is the thumb rule, the bigger and more powerful motor you have the better. Bigger motors tend to last for a long time, possess less risk of the motor burning out and make the job easier.

Drill Speed

The corded drill should have an adjustable drill speed, as all jobs don’t need the same drill speed. While tough material like concrete needs higher drill speeds, using the same speed to work on plastic may crack it.

Getting 700-1000 rpm is enough to do most of the jobs. The only time you might need higher speed is if you’re drilling through very tough materials.

Chuck Size

The chuck is what holds the drill bit. The chuck should be strong otherwise the drill bit might slip and cause an accident. There are two types of chucks. Keyed and keyless. Some drills come with a key to tighten, loosen and lock the drill bit with the help of the key. Others are called keyless chuck which means no chuck key is used, the tightening and loosing are done using the hand.

Both have their benefits. With a keyless chuck, you never have to worry about losing the key. I guess you know how painful losing a key can be, whether it is the key to your house or the chuck key. The changing of the bits is also quicker and easier.

But if you want a tougher drilling, you should use a chuck with key. Bit needs to be tightened firmly to bore a smooth hole. Otherwise, the bit might vibrate and that will be dangerous at high speed. With a key chuck, you can tighten the drill bit securely by hands, and the bit is less likely to slip.

There are different sizes the chuck comes in. The chuck size determines the size of the drill bit or drill attachment fitted with it. The most popular size is the 3/8″ size which is suitable for almost every task. There are other sizes like 1/2″ and 1/4″. But the 3/8″ size is widely used, and this is the size I’ll recommend.

Hammer Function

The hammer function is measured in BPM (blows per minute). Many people who buy corded drills for heavy works don’t know what BPM is. More surprisingly, they don’t specifically look for the feature when the buy a drill.

If you’re looking for tough jobs, like drilling through concrete, then the hammer function will provide you extra benefits. The hammering action provides a short, rapid hammer thrust for drilling through the tough material. BPM is the amount of that thrust in every minute.

The hammer function works well with all kinds of tough materials, but you should not be drilling through wood or metal with a hammer function. A lot of people don’t distinguish between the two, and finally, end up not having the desired result.

Reverse Mechanism

reverse mechanism will add versatility to your drill. Sometimes your drill bit might get stuck, and you cannot simply pull it as that might cause damage. In that case putting the drill in reverse motion will safely bring your drill bit out.

Or sometimes you might want to drill in reverse direction depending on the task, like removing broken screws. It can be hard to remove the screw using a manual screwdriver, and the reversible function will come in handy that time.

Comfort

Design and ergonomics are important features, especially for those who use the drill for long hours every day i.e. the construction workers. A drill should be well balanced, lightweight and have a good grip.

Any lacking in the above features cause worker fatigue, muscle cramp, joint pain in the long run. That’s why drills with side handles are more preferred because that refrains you from putting too much pressure on one hand and helps you to do a steady job. Also, make sure the drill has a comfortable rubber grip on the handle.

Don’t call me comfort freak, but I would also like to have a trigger lock button in my drill. I want to be able to keep drilling without constantly worrying to hold the trigger down.

In short, a decent rubber grip, a side handle and a lock button, these will put a drill ahead regarding comfort.

Brands

Brands are brands for a reason. They have better quality assurance process, and they do not look to harm their reputation. That’s why, when you want the best-corded drill for you, buying from a renowned brand will always give you assurance and protection. They use better construction materials for their product. If somehow you don’t get the desired result, policies like warranty, replace, a refund can help you with that.

Price

Price is one of the features people look for, just may not admit it. Honestly, I do not see any problem in that, why break my bank when I can get my desired features at less price?

The price of corded drills starts around 25$ and rises to 100$ or more depending on what type of drill you want. For regular home use, you will find good all-purpose drill in 30$-50$ price.

For construction and professional use, higher end products are used which has a long lifespan. Those drills come with more power, suitable for tough jobs and slightly costlier than the regular ones.

Corded Vs Cordless Drills: Comparison

As you can see, corded and cordless drill both have their advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I think you should keep both of them at your disposal if you’re a DIY enthusiast or an industrial worker. Why? While a corded drill offers long time use without any hindrance, a cordless drill will make it easy to work in tiny awkward places.

But, if I were told to keep only one, I’d choose a corded drill. It might seem that a cordless drill will save you time, and it does. It’s easier to move around with a cordless drill, reaching difficult places and start working without bothering about a power source. You don’t have to fear about tripping over the cords. It’s all good until the battery starts to run out. The time you lose charging batteries or swapping them is much more than the time you spend moving a power cord.

Another issue is efficiency. Efficiency is the synonym of time. While a corded drill provides you full power constantly, rotation speed and torque of a cordless drill start to decrease over time. For users, it’s annoying, especially when the work demands concentration and indiscrete power supply.

Even if we leave out the issue of power supply, corded drills are still better regarding design and ergonomics. When your job demands regular and long hours of working with a drill, those are important. A cordless drill is heavier than a corded drill due to the weight of the battery pack. For a short time this might not hold any significance, but for long use, the weight may cause fatigue, joint pain, and tired muscles for the worker. That’s why corded drills are an undisputed choice for heavy industrial jobs and long hour works.

As for durability, corded drills incline to serve you for many years, generally more than the cordless ones. Because corded drills do not use a battery as power source, so you do not have to fear that the battery will be expired and fail to hold charge eventually. The price of a corded drill is also lower than a cordless drill, sometimes even 40%-50% cheaper.

Uses Of A Corded Drill

  • The main use of a drill is, guess what, Drilling! Drills are designed to bore holes in objects. If you use the right drill bit, you can make a smooth hole through woods, tiles, concrete walls, metal, plastic and stone.
  • Drills can be used as fasteners. The drill is fitted with a screwdriver shaped drill bit and used to insert screws. Most of the time drills can insert the screw into the material without a pre-drilled hole. But if the intended material is hard enough, making a pre-drilled hole is an easier option.
  • Drills can also be used as mixers. If you fit a mixer attachment (known as the paddle) with the drill, it can be used to mix paints, mortars and even cement. The power a corded drill provides will make sure the mix is appropriate and well-done.
  • If you own a car, you can use certain drills to polish and wax the car and get a professional showroom look in a short time. Use proper pads and cleaners for the job. Set the speed of the drill into the lowest gear. Be careful and do not apply too much pressure, or you’ll end up ruining the body-paint.

Conclusion

A corded drill is a must-have for users dealing with home improvement works as well as professional construction works. When buying a drill, look for the motor power, the RPM and the ergonomic features of the drill to avoid quick wear and tear.

We have done some heavy researches and compilations for you. If you’re in a hurry, then go through our comparison chart for a quick look. If you want more detailed information, our best corded drill reviews will help you. If you have any recommendation, don’t hesitate to share with us.

Best Corded Drill 2019
  • DEWALT DWD115K 8 Amp 3/8-Inch VSR Mid-Handle Grip Drill
  • Black & Decker DR260B 5.2-Amp 3/8-Inch Drill/Driver
  • DEWALT DWD112 8.0 Amp 3/8-Inch VSR Pistol-Grip Drill
  • DEWALT DWD210G 10-Amp 1/2-Inch Pistol-Grip Drill
  • BLACK+DECKER DR560 7.0-Amp 1/2-Inch Drill/Driver
  • PORTER-CABLE PC600D 6.5 Amp 3/8-Inch Variable Speed Drill
4.2

Summary

A corded drill is a must-have for users dealing with home improvement works as well as professional construction works. When buying a drill, look for the motor power, the RPM and the ergonomic features of the drill to avoid quick wear and tear.

Leave a Comment